First spun


I’ve spun, plied and finished the BFL/Tussah silk tops.  It’s mine and Owen’s first yarn together and we are both very proud.  Owen and I are getting along wonderfully, though there hasn’t been much sleep but that’s to be expected when there’s a new baby in the house really.

BFL and silk really are a winning combination, the tops spun like butter and the sheen is beautiful, the yarn looks even more like a wintry walk on Filey beach, when the low, winter sun has come out and the wet beach shimmers grey-blue against the winter sky.  I’m planning to knit it up into my first pair of handspun socks because it’s only right that it should become another first.

Today, I’m dyeing the remainder of my Finn X White Romney/Corriedale a pretty blue green (surprise surprise).  I have it in mind that I want to card it and practice long-draw woollen spun with it, we shall see.  I am also washing a 500g English Leicester part fleece that I forgot I had.  I also have the Wensleydale/Teeswater/Tussah silk rainbow tops ready to spin and Idlewood which just requires the body knitting up and it’s done.  Busy, busy as usual and enjoying every second of it.

ttfn Melanie X


4 Comments on “First spun”

  1. Katie says:

    ohhhh that’s gorgeous! you and owen make a good team.

  2. Lydia says:

    Wow, hello to Owen. Well done to you. I am a beginner spinner and own a beautiful Ladybug. This week the wheel and I are going to become better acquainted…

  3. teopea says:

    That is absolutely gorgeous yarn. I’m awed.


Leave a comment