N is for…


…Navajo plying. Which is what I’ve been playing with recently.

It started with the two locks that I photographed for the Bendigo post.  I washed them to see how they looked clean and both of them came up beautifully.  I’m excited to have new fleecy possibilities to explore but I don’t want to rush into anything.  However, lately there has been a lot of conversation of carding amongst my friends, Sharon has just become the proud owner of a Fancy Kitty drum carder, I recently purchased a pair of Ashford hand carders from Spun Out and we met Richard Ashford at Bendigo who was utterly charming and generous and gave me a lesson on drum carding resulting in free batts for both Sonia and I.  So with all of this carding excitement going on I picked up my hand carders and began to card the two locks together.  I spun the resulting rolag with one of my Ken Ledbetter spindles and then had a go at Navajo plying the single.  Heaps of fun!  Although I can be a bit project orientated I do love to play around with fibre just for the fun of it.

I think it has a rustic charm, though I don’t think I will be blending the two fleeces when I come to spinning them proper.

Anyway, so the Navajo plying, I don’t know why but I had got it in my head that it was way more complicated than it actually is.  I do this occasionally, spend ages looking for the trick when there is none, it really is that simple, just my brain getting in the way.  I fear I am doing the same with crochet and hopefully one day soon that too will just click.  So yesterday I had another attempt using the singles left over from Julie’s birthday yarn.

I made a N just because I can!  I’m quite happy with my dabblings so far there are lengths of yarn that are beautiful though more practice is needed.  I fudged a bit when the singles broke which looks a little bit shit but hey, practicing this is fun. I’m also practicing my long-draw but I don’t have anything worth showing there. Hopefully that too will click with time but I think that’s a muscle memory/co-ordination thing rather than a silly mental block, or maybe it isn’t, time will tell.

Well, I better get back to the gift knitting and musing about fleecy possibilities.  Going back to work is going to be a real wrench that’s for sure!

ttfn Melanie x

8 Comments on “N is for…”

  1. Jen says:

    i always practice n-plying with any singles leftover after a 2 or 3 ply. I have all these mini skeins of 3 ply!

  2. Sonia says:

    I’m so envious of your N! Well done 🙂

  3. Cheryl says:

    Love the yarn! I’ve only navajo plied once, but it is so much fun! Should really do it more often. so much fun! Should really do it more often.

  4. Lydia says:

    Well, navajo plying now! Oh, perhaps I will be able to do that one day your skein looks great. My new spindles are waiting for me to pick them up and then nothing will stop me from spinning away – at least for a little while. I have bought myself a treat – a Golding spindle – have you seen them?

  5. teopea says:

    Looks very pretty – though I don’t really know anything about plying yet!


Leave a Reply

