Dyeing to spin


I’m still awaiting the arrival of my spinning wheel, I’ve kind of got my hopes up it will arrive today.  As of yet the postie hasn’t been but I shall post as soon as it arrives.

So what does one do when one is not very patiently awaiting one’s spinning wheel? (I’m still very much affected by the Royal wedding, sorry) One dyes some combed tops, that’s what.

The first one is kind of colour wheel dyed Wensleydale, Teeswater and Tussah silk.  I’m calling it somewhere over a slightly muted rainbow.

The next one is BFL and Tussah silk, the colours remind me of a wintry walk on Filey beach so that’s what I’ve called it.

The last one is BFL, Angora and silk and I’m calling it, Here comes the rain again, from the Eurythmics song.

Now hurry up Mr Postman!

7 Comments on “Dyeing to spin”

  1. Sonia says:

    Gorgeous dye job! Love the top one, and the bottom 2 are so you 🙂 I like them too. Hurry up wheel!

  2. Jen says:

    WOW!
    knowing something of your dreamy type plans, these would DEFINITELY sell on etsy 🙂
    (hell, I’d buy two of them!)
    Great fibre blends too – where did you get them again?

  3. Jo says:

    Beautiful xx We were rock-pooling on Filey Beach last week, it wasn’t wintry but it was very windy xxx

  4. Anna says:

    WOW – they’re all lovely but I really love the middle one. Gorgeous job!

  5. Sharon says:

    Really stunning, especially the top one.

  6. Sharon says:

    and the bottom one. The middle one is lovely too 🙂

  7. […] possiblities are vast.  I’ve spun half of the BFL angora silk tops that I dyed earlier in this post and Navajo plied the resulting singles because I’m still excited about Navajo plying, it […]


Leave a Reply

